FAQ - Errors
Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:26 pm
Since there have been a couple of questions about errors, I will elaborate a little about how and when to score an error
NFHs Rule 9.5.3
An assist is credited to a fielder...when the fielder handles the ball prior to an error which prevents what would have been a putout.
NFHS Rule 9.5.5
An error is charge against a fielder for each misplay that
a) prolongs the time at bat of the batter
b) prolongs the time a player continues to be a runner
c) permits a runner to advance one or more bases.
Exceptions:
1. A pitcher is not charged with an error for a base on balls, a batter being hit, an illegal pitch (balk), a passed ball or a wild pitch.
2. A catcher is not charged with an error for a wild throw in an attempt to prevent a stolen base, unless the base stealer advances another base because of the wild throw. (It is just a stolen base)
3. Neither catcher nor infielder is charged with an error for a wild throw in an attempt to complete a double play, unless the throw is so wild that it permits a runner to advance an additional base, but if a player drops a thrown ball when a double or triple play would've been completed by holding onto it, it is an error. (4-6-3 shortstop throws to first, the shortstop will never have an error charged, but if it's a good throw and the first baseman drops it, it is an error on the first baseman).
4. It is a passed ball when the catcher fails to stop or control a pitch when he/she should've been able to do so with ordinary effort and on which a runner (other than the batter) is able to advance. When a passed ball occurs on the third strike, permitting a batter to reach first base, score a strikeout and a passed ball. (Dropped third strike in iScore)
5. A field is not charged with an error for accurately throwing to a base when the baseman fails to stop or try to stop the ball, provided there was good reason for such throw. If the runner advances because of the throw, the error is charged to the baseman, or fielder who should have covered that base.
6. If a fielder drops a fair fly ball but recovers in time to force out a runner, the fielder is not charged with an error. It is recorded as a force out.
Hope this answers many questions about errors.
NFHs Rule 9.5.3
An assist is credited to a fielder...when the fielder handles the ball prior to an error which prevents what would have been a putout.
NFHS Rule 9.5.5
An error is charge against a fielder for each misplay that
a) prolongs the time at bat of the batter
b) prolongs the time a player continues to be a runner
c) permits a runner to advance one or more bases.
Exceptions:
1. A pitcher is not charged with an error for a base on balls, a batter being hit, an illegal pitch (balk), a passed ball or a wild pitch.
2. A catcher is not charged with an error for a wild throw in an attempt to prevent a stolen base, unless the base stealer advances another base because of the wild throw. (It is just a stolen base)
3. Neither catcher nor infielder is charged with an error for a wild throw in an attempt to complete a double play, unless the throw is so wild that it permits a runner to advance an additional base, but if a player drops a thrown ball when a double or triple play would've been completed by holding onto it, it is an error. (4-6-3 shortstop throws to first, the shortstop will never have an error charged, but if it's a good throw and the first baseman drops it, it is an error on the first baseman).
4. It is a passed ball when the catcher fails to stop or control a pitch when he/she should've been able to do so with ordinary effort and on which a runner (other than the batter) is able to advance. When a passed ball occurs on the third strike, permitting a batter to reach first base, score a strikeout and a passed ball. (Dropped third strike in iScore)
5. A field is not charged with an error for accurately throwing to a base when the baseman fails to stop or try to stop the ball, provided there was good reason for such throw. If the runner advances because of the throw, the error is charged to the baseman, or fielder who should have covered that base.
6. If a fielder drops a fair fly ball but recovers in time to force out a runner, the fielder is not charged with an error. It is recorded as a force out.
Hope this answers many questions about errors.