SAC Fly - Runner out for leaving Early
Posted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:22 am
Runner on 3rd, no outs. Batter hits a fly ball to left. Ball is caught. Runner on 3rd tags up and scores. Batter is out on SAC Fly. The team appeals that the runner on 3rd left early and the home umpire calls the runner out (double-play). Does the batter still get credit for a SAC fly?
I am thinking this is similar to when a batter lays down a SAC bunt, but then there is a throwing error. The batter still gets credit for the SAC bunt, and then reaches 1st on an error. But I'm not sure because a run does not score. Please let me know the official ruling.
Thanks!
I am thinking this is similar to when a batter lays down a SAC bunt, but then there is a throwing error. The batter still gets credit for the SAC bunt, and then reaches 1st on an error. But I'm not sure because a run does not score. Please let me know the official ruling.
Thanks!