runner interference
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:34 am
Not an iScore question, but curious on the proper ruling for this.
Runner on 1st, two out.
Ground ball to the second baseman. Just as he is about to field the ball he gets run over by the runner from first going to second. Umpire rules interference for the third out. Seemed like the obvious right call (I still think it is). But it did get me to wondering. The play occurred right in the baseline and pretty bang-bang (ball, defensive player and runner all pretty much reaching the same spot at the same time, runner maybe 1/2 step behind).
Question is, is it the runners responsibility to avoid contact or does he have the right to the basepath? He neither went out of his way to make or avoid contact, just ran in a straight line.
Again, I believe the runner should have been out, but just curious.
Also, this was the third out, but if there had been less than 2 outs, a couple more questions:
The runner is out, but the batter may be awarder first or deemed out also at the umpires discretion, depending on if he felt a double play could have been made. Is this correct?
If ruled safe at first, what is the scoring for that?
Thanks.
Mark
Runner on 1st, two out.
Ground ball to the second baseman. Just as he is about to field the ball he gets run over by the runner from first going to second. Umpire rules interference for the third out. Seemed like the obvious right call (I still think it is). But it did get me to wondering. The play occurred right in the baseline and pretty bang-bang (ball, defensive player and runner all pretty much reaching the same spot at the same time, runner maybe 1/2 step behind).
Question is, is it the runners responsibility to avoid contact or does he have the right to the basepath? He neither went out of his way to make or avoid contact, just ran in a straight line.
Again, I believe the runner should have been out, but just curious.
Also, this was the third out, but if there had been less than 2 outs, a couple more questions:
The runner is out, but the batter may be awarder first or deemed out also at the umpires discretion, depending on if he felt a double play could have been made. Is this correct?
If ruled safe at first, what is the scoring for that?
Thanks.
Mark