Page 1 of 1
SAC and FC on the same play?
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:01 pm
by SunshineHwy
If a SAC and a Fielder's Choice occur on the same play, does the fielder's choice negate the SAC? Or vice versa? I want to score this correctly and am unclear if this counts as an at bat (yes if it's a FC, no if it's a SAC). I'm hearing both sides in my local league and am having trouble getting clarification. The more thorough the explanation, the better.
Thanks!
Re: SAC and FC on the same play?
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:52 pm
by FTMSupport
If you are talking about a bunt where a runner other than the batter is thrown out, then it is simply a FC (doesn't matter if another runner advanced)... the batter only gets a Sac Bunt if runners advance safely.
But if you include details of the situation, we are sure someone on the board can give you more details.
Re: SAC and FC on the same play?
Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:21 pm
by grstatdoc
Yes, it is possible for a SAC and FC to be scored on the same play.
(a FC is scored when the defense tries to put out a runner other than the batter. Most often an out is gained, but is not a requirement)
Looking at a case:
(a) R1, 0 out. B#2 bunts, pitcher attempts to retire R1 at second, but R1 beats the throw, and B#2 reaches first.
B#2 did his job by advancing R1 with a bunt, and therefore gets credit for a sacrifice.
We as scorers would have judged that had the pitcher thrown to first, B#2 would be out (this is in contrast to the bunt being so good that the pitcher's only chance was to get R1. Since that didn't work, B#2 would get a bunt single and not a sacrifice)
Since the pitcher attempted to retire R1, B#2 reaches first on the fielder's choice. However, he does not lose his sacrifice credit (The FC describes how B#2 reaches first)
iScore will allow you to enter such plays (best to have Advanced Mode=On and Minimize Question=No)
(b) R1, 0 out. B#2 bunts, but pitcher retires R1 at second (1-6). This would be entered like a normal FC, but choosing to note it was a bunt.
There are other variations on this theme, but will stop here for now.
Re: SAC and FC on the same play?
Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 8:22 pm
by OhioTex
In iScore ..In Play> safe >sac bunt. .. What happen to runner at first? > safe >Second> advance by batter, what happen to batter ? Safe> held up