Scoring Challenge

We will try and answer Questions in this forum. If you are having any issues with iScore Baseball, this is probably the best place to start. You can also search historical posts here.
Post Reply
User avatar
CSThunderCoach
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:55 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Scoring Challenge

Post by CSThunderCoach » Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:59 am

Had this in a game last weekend - Just wondering how you all would score this using the app. I threw my hands up and just used a note like the one below.

Situation:
Runner (R1) at 2nd - Wild Pitch to batter (B1) on Ball 4.
R1 advances to third - F2 tries for the out - R1 safe at 3rd on throw
B1 attempts 2nd on throw to 3rd - F5 throws to F4 - B1 safe on throw at 2nd
R1 tries to advance to home on throw to 2nd but stumbles as throw comes home from F4.
R1 attempts to return to 3rd as F2 throws to F5 - typical pickle - F1 is now backing up F2
R1 turns and breaks back to home - F5 attempts throw to F2 - throw is slightly high and tips off the top of catcher's glove right to F1 about a step behind home plate.
R1 collides with F2 and is tagged out by F1.
B1 on 2nd takes 3rd on the play at the plate.
Umpire immediately signals dead-ball defensive obstruction on the catcher and awards home to the runner, but returns the runner on 3rd to 2nd.

How would you score this? Only looking for the scoring here - the argument with the umpire about returning B1 to 2nd is a whole different subject. :)
Bryan D Shepherd
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:25 am
Location: St. Albans, WV; District 3 Little League Umpire; WVSSAC Softball Umpire KS1904

Re: Scoring Challenge

Post by Bryan D Shepherd » Fri Apr 16, 2010 1:51 pm

I personally would score the the play at home as "on the throw" and put a side-note that obstruction was called on the catcher.

As a side note, the umpire in that situation is correct. In any obstruction call (which is defensive interference), once the runner that was obstructed is put out, the umpire gives the runner that was obstructed (in this case R1) the base that he/she feels the runner would've gotten had he/she not been obstructed, and all runners are returned to the base last legally touched when the obstruction occurred.
User avatar
CSThunderCoach
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:55 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Scoring Challenge

Post by CSThunderCoach » Fri Apr 16, 2010 4:45 pm

Thanks for the reply. It was my understanding that if a runner
was in motion (ie B1) they would get that base. Thank you for
the clarification. Most plays like this happen so fast and in a timed
game you don't want to spend too much time trying to get an
explaination.
Bryan D Shepherd
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:25 am
Location: St. Albans, WV; District 3 Little League Umpire; WVSSAC Softball Umpire KS1904

Re: Scoring Challenge

Post by Bryan D Shepherd » Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:18 pm

One thing I did not mention, is that on obstruction, the ball is not immediately dead. It is called a delayed dead ball and is signaled by extending the left arm all the way to the side, and making a fist with the left hand. This signal remains until the ball becomes dead either by a) the runner who was obstructed being put out (ball becomes dead immediately, there is some debate on the proper umpire mechanic to handle this, but that's another story) or b) all action stops.

Ref: NFHS 8.4.3 Penalty

8.4.3 Reads (verbatim)
"A runner is entitled to advance without liability to be put out when...
...b. a fielder not in possesson of the ball or not making an initial play on a batted ball, impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is legally running bases. Obstructed runners are still required to touch all bases in proper order, or they could be called out on a proper appeal by the defensive team. Should an act of interference occur following any obstruction, enforcement of the interference penalty would have precedence.
PENALTY: When any obstruction occurs (including a rundown), the umpire will signal delayed dead ball. The ball will remain live. If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction, a dead ball is called and the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction will be awarded the base or bases which would've been reached, in the umpire's judgement, had there not been obstruction. An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where she (he) was obstructed."
Post Reply